Canada: Provinces

Canada's provinces and territories - how many can you name?s

Lake Louise There are 10 provinces and 3 territories in Canada. The Provinces are Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Quebec, and Prince Edward Island. The territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

Province: Alberta

Alberta has a population of around 3.6 million, and is one of Canada's three 'Prairie Provinces'. Alberta was established as a province in 1905. It is situated in the West of Canada and is landlocked.

The province is named after Queen Victoria's fourth daughter, Princess Louise Caroline Alberta and also after Albert, Queen Victoria's Prince Consort.

Edmonton is its capital city.

Province: British Columbia

British Columbia is the westernmost province in Canada. Its capital is Victoria, named after Queen Victoria in 1858, and the biggest city is Vancouver.

Logging and mining are two of the main industries, and the mild climate ensures the province is agriculturally rich.

Province: Manitoba

Manitoba is another of Canada's Prairie Provinces. It is a fairly flat land and so there is a lot of agriculture. Additionally, manufacturing, mining and forestry are big industries there.

The capital city of the province of Manitoba is Winnipeg, where most of the people in the province live.

Province: New Brunswick

New Brunswick is in East Canada and is constitutionally bilingual, speaking English and French. Its capital city is Fredericton, though its largest city is Saint John.

Province: Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland CoastThis is the most easterly province in Canada and consists of the island of Newfoundland and Labrador on the mainland, though most of the half-million population live on the island of Newfoundland.

The capital city is St John's, and the province used to be a colony of the United Kingdom.

Province: Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia is on the East coast of Canada. The capital is Halifax. The name 'Nova Scotia' means 'New Scotland'. While it has been settled by people from many countries (France, Britain, Germany and more) much of the tourism in the 20th century focuses on its Scottishness.

Province: Ontario

Ontario is Canada's most populous province and is located to the centre/East of the country. It contains Canada's biggest city (Toronto) and also the nation's capital city (Ottawa).

Most of the population live in the south, which borders the United States. The province is named after Lake Ontario, though it also contains about a quarter of a million freshwater lakes.

Province: Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island is, as the name suggests, an island province, though it consists of a number of islands, not just Prince Edward Island itself.

The capital city is Charlottetown.

Province: Quebec

The province of Quebec is predominantly French speaking and its only official language is French. It is situated on the East of Canada and is the largest of all the provinces.

Only Ontario has a larger population, mainly living between Quebec City (the capital) and Montreal.

Referendums have been held in the past for independence from Canada, and while defeated the 1995 referendum was close.

Province: Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan is another of Canada's Prairie Provinces, and is located fairly centrally on the South border with the United States.

The capital city is Regina and the largest city is Saskatoon.

Territory: Northwest Territories

As its name suggests, this territory is located in the north of Canada. Yellowknife is the capital city and is also the largest.

It contains the Great Bear Lake, which is the biggest lake entirely within Canada.

Territory: Nunavut

This is the largest of the three territories and was officially set-apart from the Northwest Territories in 1999, though the boundaries had been set in 1993.

Nunavut has the smallest population of all the territories and provinces, with around 32,000 inhabitants occupying an area of over 2 million square kilometres.

The capital city is Iqaluit.

Territory: Yukon

This territory is on the North West of Canada. It contains Mount Logan, Canada's highest mountain.

The capital city is Whitehorse.